Cell secrets revealed: optical sensors for real-time pH and dissolved oxygen monitoring

REGISTER NOW

Thursday 8 October 2020 07:00 [PDT] 10:00 [EDT] 15:00 [BST]
Alternative time zones

Dissolved oxygen and pH levels are major operational parameters providing key information on cell growth and metabolism. However, in a sealed culture vessel, real-time measurement of these parameters without damaging or influencing your growing cells can be a challenge. Optical sensing is fast and non-destructive, so optical sensors could be valuable accessories in optimizing cell growth by determining if your cells are in their optimal culture conditions, how often you should replace media and split the cells, what the fluid flow rate or agitation speed should be, and how reproducible conditions are within and across batches and production lots.

What will you learn?

  • Importance of measuring pericellular pH and dissolved oxygen
  • How you can add optical sensors in your culture vessel
  • How you can use sensor data to make the best cell culture decisions
  • Actionable insights about perfusion and agitation vs. static cultures

Who may this interest?

  • Researchers and scientists working in the multidisciplinary field of cell therapy and regenerative medicine
  • Those in biotechnology/bioprocessing R&D and manufacturing
  • Other stakeholders in advanced therapies

Speaker

Jake Boy

Senior Application Scientist

Scientific Bioprocessing (PA, USA)

Jake earned his BA in Organismic and Evolutionary Biology at Harvard University (MA, USA). He has a professional background in research labs, genetics and cell culturing. As an Application Scientist at Scientific Bioprocessing, Jake supports new product development and testing and problem solves for each customer’s unique bio-application. Jake is dedicated to improving the science surrounding cell culture and helping customers attain their scientific goals.

In association with